Independence.

Standard

So I just turned 20 a couple weeks ago. And finally living in an actual building with a bathroom I share with only one person. Trust me that’s something to celebrate when one goes to university.

But now, I actually have responsibilities, such as cleaning the kitchen and bathroom, cooking, sweeping! I mean I’ve done it before at home but my mother would still do it again since I’m shit at cleaning (sorry mommy. I try)

But it’s so strange for a someone like me, a girl who comes from a relatively strict family to walk around at 1am coming back from a friends into a building, pressing an elevator button and putting the keys in the door and stepping in. All the actions I see older women do in movies. Never once did I think I would step into a home where my parents weren’t there.

The other day I also stayed over at my friend’s ( a girl from high school) but we both stayed at her older sister’s place. Her sister’s place looks a lot less like an undergraduate’s home, but what a real adult would live in. But just then, when I walked in was when I realized that in 5 years or so, this is where I’d be too. And then another 5 years go by then I’d be 30.

I literally turned 20 two weeks ago and here I am thinking about a decade into the future!

There’s this whole new wave of independence that I feel bittersweet about.

Does anyone else feel like this in the twenties?

Leave a Reply

